- Elected Officials
- Register of Wills & Orphans' Court
- Marriage Licenses
Butler County Marriage Bureau hours are as follows:
Monday through Friday, 8:30am to 4:00pm. Closed on Court Holidays.
Butler County Marriage Information Line
You can reach the Butler County Marriage Information Line by calling the 724-284-5379. This is a recorded line. To speak with a member of our staff, please call 724-284-5354.
A signer for hearing impaired is available upon request. Interpreters for non-English speaking clients are available upon request. Arrangements must be made in advance by calling our office at 724-284-5354.
Types of Marriage Licenses
There are two types of marriage licenses issued in Pennsylvania:
1. A self-uniting marriage license
2. A traditional marriage license
- A self-uniting marriage license does not require an officiant to solemnize the marriage but does require the signatures of two witnesses.
- A traditional marriage license requires an officiant to solemnize the marriage.
The Office of the Clerk of Orphans’ Court does not determine who may or may not solemnize a marriage.
See Disclaimer on Officiants listed below.
Marriage Application Checklist
Applicants will need to provide:
- $60 for license fee
- Certified Divorce Decrees (if applicable) If multiple Divorces, only the most recent Certified Decree is required.
- Certified Name Change (if applicable)
- Original Death Certificate (if applicable)
- Social Security Number (Social Security Card is recommended)
- Valid identification (Any 1 of these):
- Active military ID
- Certified birth certificate
- Pennsylvania State Department of Transportation photo ID card
- Photo driver’s license
What to Know
Applicants will need to know:
- Birth Mother and Father’s Full Current Name
- Birth Mother’s Maiden Name
- Mother and Father’s City/State of Birthplace
- Mother and Father’s City/State of Residence
- Mother and Father’s Occupation
- Their Birthplace
- Their Residence (City, Borough, Township)
Electronically File Your Marriage License
You are able to E-file your Marriage License application by visiting the County Fusion website.
- Login as a "Guest"
- Select "Accept"
- Select "E-File Marriage License"
The three-day waiting period does not begin until both applicants appear in our office to complete the application process.
When to Apply
Marriage licenses are valid for 60 days from date of issuance and may be used anywhere in Pennsylvania. Application must be made sometime within 60 days of wedding date. Do not apply unless you are within 60 days of your wedding date.
Pennsylvania law requires a minimum 3-day waiting period after application is made before license can be issued.
Anyone wishing to marry in Pennsylvania must obtain a Pennsylvania marriage license. Both applicants must appear together in person to complete the marriage license application.
Applicants must have valid ID (e.g., current Driver’s License, military or Pennsylvania Department of Transportation photo ID). Birth Certificates are required only when applicants have no other ID. All IDs must be in English or be accompanied by a certified English translation.
Applicants must provide us with their Social Security Number (SSN), and producing your Social Security Card is preferable (federal and state mandates for U.S. citizens). If you have lost your card, you may provide written verification of your SSN via a W2, payroll stub, Internal Revenue Service forms, etc. The Social Security Administration benefits printout will only verify the last 4 digits.
Where to Apply
Applicants may apply in any county within Pennsylvania. Application does not need to be made in county of residence or where ceremony is to be performed. Certifications can only be issued from county of application. Contact the county where you plan to apply (Office Hours & fees differ from county to county).
Butler County Marriage License Bureau
The Butler County Marriage License Bureau is located in:
Register of Wills & Clerk of Orphans’ Court Office
Level L, Government Center
124 West Diamond Street
Butler, PA 16001
Applicants may apply between 8:30am and 4:00pm, Monday through Friday, except holidays. Please plan to wait for processing time. No Applications will be accepted after 4:00pm.
All applicants must be 18 years of age to obtain a marriage license.
Pennsylvania does not require premarital blood testing or physical examinations.
The current fee is $60 effective January 1, 2010. Please call 724-284-5354 for Butler County or view the Orphans’ Court fee schedule for fee listings.
Butler County does not accept personal checks for marriage licenses or marriage license certifications. Credit/debit cards are now accepted; however, a convenience fee applies.
Who You May Not Marry
Persons related by blood as first cousins or closer may not marry in Pennsylvania. Other prohibitions and policies are posted in the Register of Wills and the Clerk of Orphans’ Court Office.
Applicants who have previously married must have either original death certificate (if widowed) or original divorce decree dated more than 30 days prior to application date. If applicant does not have the original Divorce Decree, S/he must obtain a certified copy of the Decree (with a court seal) from the Court that issued the original. Photocopies are not acceptable.
Foreign divorce Decrees must also have a certified English translation attached. Civil annulments require same documentation as divorces (Church annulments are not accepted).
If female applicant is divorced and has changed her name, she must have certified documentation of same.
Anyone wishing to marry outside Pennsylvania must contact that state, territory, country, etc., directly. Legal requirements of that jurisdiction apply.
Disclaimer on Officiants
View the Disclaimer on Officiants (PDF).
All questions should be directed to Butler County Marriage License Bureau located within the Register of Wills and Clerk of Orphans’ Court Office. You may reach the Marriage License Bureau at 724-284-5354.